Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-Thon: October 2012

Note: English is not my native language, so sometimes I may write something wrong. I don’t care about it now – the Read-a-Thon is supposed to be fun and my English doesn’t have to be perfect!;) I’ll be doing short updates throughout the read-a-thon on Litera-Tour facebook page and this post will be updated half-way and at the end.


[Hour 1] Introductory questionnaire

What fine part of the world are you reading from today?
Konin, Poland (Europe)

Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?
A Year in Japan by Kate T. Williamson – this book has been waiting for too long for its read!^^’

Which snack are you most looking forward to?
Actually, not a snack – I’m looking forward to my genmaicha (green tea with roasted rice).

Tell us a little something about yourself!
Female, 29, translator from German language, cat lover, writing mostly about Japanese literature, addicted to green tea.

If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to?
This is my first read-a-thon and all I want to do is just read (with others participants) and simply have fun.


– my stack of books and a cup of genmaicha –

Readathon Mini-Challenge: Turn to Page
Hosted by: Reflections of a Bookaholic

Turn to page 32 of the book you are currently reading (or the nearest page with text on it) and find the most entertaining phrase to complete the following sentence:

„If only you knew ________, you’d run screaming into the night!”

If only you knew the time when all the words that fill your mind just come tumbling out [comes], you’d run screaming into the night!

from: Takuji Ichikawa, Be with you, (trans. by) Terry Gallagher, VIZ Media, San Francisco 2008


[Hour 13] Mid-event survey

How are you doing? Sleepy? Are your eyes tired?
Sleepy? Of course! It’s 2:11am here.

What have you finished reading?
Finished: A Year in Japan by Kate T. Williamson. And two chapters of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (reading with my daughter).

In the middle of reading Be with you by Takuji Ichikawa. Started to read something in Polish: Japonia (Kioto) by Martyna Wojciechowska.

What is your favorite read so far?
Since I’ve finished one book, there’s no choice, right?;)

What about your favorite snacks?
Biscuits with jelly and genmaicha.

Have you found any new blogs through the readathon? If so, give them some love.
Reflections of a Book Addict: I do like Kimberly’s two cats, Belle and Sebastian – they are so cute!^^


Readathon Mini-Challenge: Book Sentence Challenge
Hosted by: Midnight Book Girl

Take a look at the books you have laying around, and using 3 or more books, use just the titles to create a sentence!  Take a picture of the books and upload it to your blog or Twitter account (or really anything that I can see).

„Harry Potter… be with you a year in Japan…”

[Hour 24] End of event meme

Which hour was most daunting for you?
Hour 13 – it was 2am here and I was really sleepy. I just had to take a nap.

Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year?
It’s hard to say. What I see is that you should take rather short books, and what genre – it really depends on the Reader.

Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year?
Nope.

What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon?
Everything was great organized! I loved all those music-related short breaks.

How many books did you read?
Two. And I’m still in the middle of reading the third one (without counting the book I’m reading together with my daughter).

What were the names of the books you read?
Finished: A Year in Japan by Kate T.Williamson and Japonia (Kioto) by Martyna Wojciechowska
Not finished yet: Be with you by Takuji Ichikawa

Which book did you enjoy most?
I think the first one, A Year in Japan. Because of all the illustrations in and a quasi-diary form of writing.

Which did you enjoy least?
Japonia (Kioto). It was interesting, but while reading I was still thinking there must be much more to say about geisha’s world than the autor said.

If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders?
Wasn’t.

How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time?
Very likely! As a reader – obviously, and maybe as a cheerleader too. I’ve spent some time this read-a-thon checking out other people’s blogs and chatting with some bloggers and it was so~ fun.


Since the event is over, I would like to say THANK YOU to all the organizers, cheerleaders and especially to Tanabata, who was constantly cheering me on while read-a-thoning – you were great!:)

8 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-Thon: October 2012

  1. @In Spring the Dawn: I find this novel pretty interesting, but sometimes the main male character makes me… I’m not sure, angry maybe. He’s got so many problems with himself and sometimes his little son seems to be (and to act) more adultly than he is. Despite this fact, I like the story. How about your read?

    Lubię

  2. I read Be With You quite a few years ago and really don’t remember much about it now, but I know what you mean. I’ve just finished my first book, Small Damages, and quite enjoyed it. It’s a lovely little YA, coming-of-age story. Nicely written. I really enjoyed her writing style, kind of poetic. Have a good sleep, and hopefully see you in the morning for more reading. :)

    Lubię

Skomentuj

